The 7 Stages of the Life of the Human Being and its Characteristics

The stages of human life are the seven steps that are experienced throughout the life cycle. During that time, the individual learns from the surrounding environment and experiences all kinds of physical and emotional changes.

Although life expectancy was not always the same throughout history, people who died in old age also transitioned the epatas of the life of the human being that transited today.

The 7 Stages of the Life of the Human Being and its Characteristics

In fact, the time it takes to move from one stage to another is relative in the intermediate stages, and depends on the conditions in which each individual lives (for example, the social factor).

The learning and intellect of the person, in its early stages of life, develops with much more intensity, and decays in the course of the same.

The same happens with the physical and healthy development of the person, although in the first ten years of life, the human body is still vulnerable.

On the other hand, emotional stability has just begun to consolidate beyond the age of twenty-five. Before that, the psychological aspect is very variable.

The stages of human life

The growth and development of the human being is divided into 7 stages of life:







-Old age

Each of these stages is unique and unrepeatable.

1-First Step: Pre-natal

The 7 Stages of the Life of the Human Being and its Characteristics 1

This stage occurs during pregnancy in the womb and begins when the zygote forms (the spermatozoon fertilizes the Ovum ).

The zygote is a cell that then increases its size (begins to subdivide into others) until forming the embryo (second week).

The complete development of the embryo takes ten weeks. Once this phase is completed, the development of the fetus begins (the human form is defined), which will take place the next seven months in the womb until delivery.

2-Second Stage: Childhood

The 7 Stages of the Life of the Human Being and its Characteristics 2

After leaving the womb, the human being begins with the second stage of life: the stage of childhood.

These are the first years of the human being in the outer world, and although he sleeps most of the time, his mind captures absolutely everything from the surrounding environment.

During this stage, you learn to walk, manipulate objects with your hands, make sounds and talk. Feel very curious.

The stage of infancy culminates at the age of six years after birth.

3-Third Stage: Childhood

The 7 Stages of the Life of the Human Being and its Characteristics 3

In this third stage, the human being begins to interact in a social way. It begins with kindergarten, passing through the school period (primary education).

At this stage, the child begins to reason, develops cognitive abilities and new skills that will help you to become a citizen of the community where you live.

The stage culminates at the age of twelve, giving rise to the fourth stage, adolescence.

4-Fourth Stage: Adolescence

The 7 Stages of the Life of the Human Being and their Characteristics 4

The fourth stage of life is preferred by many people along this path, and it is the stage where the human being begins to discover himself.

Sentimental life is strong in this phase, experiencing new feelings (positive and negative) of those who previously lacked.

The attraction for the opposite sex takes an important part in this stage of the hand of the development of the sexual glands.

As for the end of this stage, although it can be considered to take place at twenty years of age, it depends a lot on each individual and the environment where it has developed, for example:

- Lifestyle : in rural societies, this stage concludes earlier than in those inhabiting cosmopolitan cities.

- Gender : usually, women reach maturity (own stage 5, youth) earlier than men.

5-Fifth Stage: Youth

stages of life

At this stage, the human being is more calm with himself, has his values ​​more defined and begins to project towards the future:

-Independence of the parents.

-Stay sentiment stable.

-Economic stability.

At this stage the human being leaves behind the fantasy of previous years and begins to interact more with reality.

It begins to take on responsibilities and commitments that will then harden into the next stage: adulthood.

6-Sixth Stage: Adultez

The 7 Stages of the Life of the Human Being and its Characteristics

This stage runs between the 25s and 60s. Again, as in the stages of adolescence and youth, social, economic, etc. factors. influence each individual.

At this stage the human being has reached a level of maturity enough to have complete control of the decisions that will be made and the sentimental aspects of his life.

His own values ​​are now the pillars that characterize him as an independent individual.

Family, home, work and friends are now your world, it is the environment that you want to protect from now on.

This new world is a product of the decisions and actions you are taking now with much more security than before.

7-Seventh Stage: Old Age

stages of life

Seventh and last stage of human life. This stage is reached at the age of sixty years and will be the stage that accompanies the human being until the end of his days.

The main characteristic of this stage is the physical deterioration suffered by the organism produced over the years, as well as intellectual and sensorial capacity.

It is worth clarifying that the extent to which the health of the individual is affected will depend on his actions in the past.

Material things are no longer part of their priorities, they have lost all interest in them. Live the present as it is, and no longer project to the future, because your life is already done.

His priorities now go to enjoy with loved ones who accompanied him in the years of the past. In this final stage, the past is what is most missed.


  1. Comte-Sponville, André. (2005). La vie humaine. Paris: Hermann Éditions.
  2. Horrocks, John Edwin. (1962). The Psychology of Adolescent: Behavior and Development. Michigan: Houghton Mifflin.
  3. Prior, Jennifer. (2012). The Human Life Cycle. United States: TIME FOR KIDS.
  4. Weber, Rebecca. (2011). The Cycle of Your Life. United States: Capstone Press.
  5. Eurich, Alvin Christian. (1981). Major transitions in the human life cycle. Michigan: Lexington Books.

Loading ..

Recent Posts

Loading ..